The ANCWL announced their ideal presidential slate

The ANCWL announced their ideal presidential slate

The ANCWL is backing Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma to succeed President Jacob Zuma, they also added 2 other women to their slate: Jessie Duarte, who they picked as deputy secretary-general and Maite Nkoana-Mashabane as the ideal treasurer-general.

The ANCWL announced their ideal presidential slate

As their preferred deputy president, the ANCWL named Mpumalanga Premier and ANC provincial chairperson David “DD” Mabuza.

On Sunday, the women league’s NEC had a meeting, with the main intend to nominate the preferred ANC leadership to serve in the ANC NEC post in the 54th National Conference in December 2017.

READ ALSO: Calls for the removal of Mduduzi Manana as MP

They believe that the 6 names on their slate will be able to champion the radical economic transformation policy, eliminate inequalities, unemployment and poverty in the country.

The ANCWL said that they have always supported gender equality and that is why there are 3 women on their slate, they continued by saying that they are comfortable with 50% of the additional members of the ANC NEC being women.

The league added in a statement: “For over 23 [years], the majority have been enjoying political freedom with little or nothing to celebrate on economic freedom.”

They continued by stating that: “The economy is still in the hands of the minority. The leadership to be elected in the 54th ANC National Conference must be fearless and unapologetic in implementing the radical economic transformation.” learned from Buzz South Africa that the ANCWL's candidates are as follow:

1. President: Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

2. Deputy president: DD Mabuza

3. National chairperson: Nathi Mthethwa

4. Secretary-general: Ace Magashule

5. Deputy secretary-general: Jessie Duarte

6. Treasurer-general: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane.

However, there seems to be a difference in opinion on who should succeed Zuma, as the ANCWL in Northern Cape chose Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa as the preferred president.

READ ALSO: Zimbabwe's war veterans stand for removal of Mugabe

According to provincial secretary, Topsy Vilakazi, former AU chairperson, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma was also nominated but the vote went in favour of Ramaphosa.

Do you have a story to share with us? Inbox us on our Facebook page and we could feature your story.

To stay up to date with the latest news, download our news app on Google Play or iTunes today.


Related news
Behold, the chaos that is Zuma's Fee Free Promise!

Behold, the chaos that is Zuma's Fee Free Promise!

Behold, the chaos that is Zuma's Fee Free Promise!